History of Concordia
Concordia Academy opened in September 2016 with the express aim of providing an exceptional education for Havering children. This is a school created with and for the community. As we grow, our plans will continue to be shaped around the needs and aspirations of local families.
We started with a cohort of Reception students in September 2016 at our temporary site in Hornchurch, where we were based until September 2018. Now based at our permanent site on Union Road, we will grow year on year until we are an all-through Primary by the year 2023 with a capacity of 630 students when full. This means that Reception students will have the opportunity to benefit from continuous excellence from their first day at school through to the end of Year 6. Our three-form entry status will ensure that we are well equipped to meet the local, and increasing, demand for school places.
There is a great history behind our permanent site at Union Road, formerly housing Oldchurch Hospital before it was demolished. The hospital had its origins in the infirmary built to support the Romford Union Workhouse in 1893. It served as a military hospital during the First World War and became the Oldchurch County Hospital in 1929. It joined the National Health Service in 1948 but closed in December 2006 with functions moved to the new, state of the art Queen's Hospital, located nearby and to King George Hospital in Chadwell Heath.
Below, you can see images of the build of our new school, from images of the abandoned hospital to a vibrant and thriving new school community.